So I Might Be Satan

I am not trying to offend anyone with this blog entry, sorry if I do.  I have assorted views on religion.  Basically, keep it to yourself; unless you are asked.  Simple.  Recently, I asked an old friend from HS about some religious stuff.  We are having an ongoing email discussion via Facebook.  In this case, yes, I do indeed want her honest feedback.  I really want to know what she has to say and am opening to listening.

Also, I have religious friends.  They may post the occasional religious public posting on Facebook, or send the occasional religious email.  That’s fine and dandy because most of them are uplifting; motivating even. They give me something to think about and ponder.

Okay.  So where am I going with this?  I have this family member who sends me the most bizarre, and I must say, kinda scary religious stuff.  It is not uplifting or motivating.  It tells me how I am the devil; I am Satan; I am following Satan; etc.

John 8:43-47

(43) Why do you not understand My speech? Because you are not able to listen to My word. (44) You are of your father the devil, and the desires of your father you want to do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaks a lie, he speaks from his own resources, for he is a liar and the father of it. (45) But because I tell the truth, you do not believe Me. (46) Which of you convicts Me of sin? And if I tell the truth, why do you not believe Me? (47) He who is of God hears God”s words; therefore you do not hear, because you are not of God.”

Now, I could sit and ponder that awhile and most likely come up with a good explanation as well as the meaning behind these words.  Maybe then they would not be so scary sounding.  However, I was like…What. The. Fuck??  

Things like this just really freak me out, scare the shit out of me, and basically, well…most of the time do not get a response or get deleted.  However, this family member has seemed kinda persistent lately on sending me this stuff.  So, here is something that I thought would be ironically funny to send back. How To Suck At Your Religion

What does everyone think I should do?  Just pondering my options…

This entry was posted in Randomness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So I Might Be Satan

  1. Jenny says:

    Agreed! See, that is what I am talking about…creepy, scary, a bit ridiculous. I should totally send the family member the Oatmeal thing :p

  2. Porkchop says:

    If that showed up in my inbox I would be pissing my pants, first from laughing, then from fear. No fucking thanks.

    I like the Oatmeal thing, super funny.

"Say what you need to say, say what you need to say..."

